§ 97.527

minimum qualifications as prescribed by this part:

- (2) The FCC does not accept the voluntary and uncompensated services of the person;
- (3) The VEC determines that the person is not competent to perform the VE functions; or
- (4) The VEC determines that questions of the person's integrity or honesty could compromise the examinations.
- (b) Each VEC must seek a broad representation of amateur operators to be VEs. No VEC may discriminate in accrediting VEs on the basis of race, sex, religion or national origin; nor on the basis of membership (or lack thereof) in an amateur service organization; nor on the basis of the person accepting or declining to accept reimbursement.

§ 97.527 Reimbursement for expenses.

VEs and VECs may be reimbursed by examinees for out-of-pocket expenses incurred in preparing, processing, administering, or coordinating an examination for an amateur operator license.

[66 FR 20752, Apr. 25, 2001]

APPENDIX 1 TO PART 97—PLACES WHERE THE AMATEUR SERVICE IS REGULATED BY THE FCC

In ITU Region 2, the amateur service is regulated by the FCC within the territorial limits of the 50 United States, District of Columbia, Caribbean Insular areas [Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, United States Virgin Islands (50 islets and cays) and Navassa Island], and Johnston Island (Islets East, Johnston, North and Sand) and Midway Island (Islets Eastern and Sand) in the Pacific Insular areas.

In ITU Region 3, the amateur service is regulated by the FCC within the Pacific Insular territorial limits of American Samoa (seven islands), Baker Island, Commonwealth of Northern Mariana Islands, Guam Island, Howland Island, Jarvis Island, Kingman Reef, Palmyra Island (more than 50 islets) and Wake Island (Islets Peale, Wake and Wilkes).

APPENDIX 2 TO PART 97—VEC REGIONS

- 1. Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island and Vermont.
- 2. New Jersey and New York.
- 3. Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland and Pennsylvania.

- 4. Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee and Virginia.
- 5. Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, New Mexico, Oklahoma and Texas.
- 6. California.
- Arizona, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, Washington and Wyoming.
- 8. Michigan, Ohio and West Virginia.
- 9. Illinois, Indiana and Wisconsin.
- Colorado, Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota and South Dakota.
- 11. Alaska.
- 12. Caribbean Insular areas.
- 13. Hawaii and Pacific Insular areas.

PART 101—FIXED MICROWAVE SERVICES

Subpart A—General

Sec

101.1 Scope and authority.

101.3 Definitions.

Subpart B—Applications and Licenses

GENERAL FILING REQUIREMENTS

101.4 Transition plan.

101.5 Station authorization required.

101.7 Eligibility for station license.

101.17 Performance requirements for the $38.6\text{--}40.0~\mathrm{GHz}$ frequency band.

101.21 Technical content of applications.

101.23 Waiver of rules.

101.31 Temporary and conditional authorizations.

PROCESSING OF APPLICATIONS

101.45 Mutually exclusive applications.

101.51 Comparative evaluation of mutually exclusive applications.

LICENSE TRANSFERS, MODIFICATIONS, CONDITIONS AND FORFEITURES

- $101.55\,$ Considerations involving transfer or assignment applications.
- 101.56 Partitioned service areas (PSAs) and disaggregated spectrum.
- 101.61 Certain modifications not requiring prior authorization in the Local Multipoint Distribution Service and 24 GHz Service.
- 101.63 Period of construction; certification of completion of construction.
- 101.64 Service areas.
- 101.65 Forfeiture and termination of station authorizations.
- 101.67 License period.

Policies Governing Microwave Relocation From the 1850–1990 and 2110–2200 MHz Bands

101.69 Transition of the 1850–1990 MHz, 2110– 2150 MHz, and 2160–2200 MHz bands from